Exalted: The Sun Also Rises
Solars are known as “the Lawgivers,” and their powers stem from the holy light of the Unconquered Sun. Their ability to rule over others is unquestioned, as is their matchless ability to exceed their own limitations. As such, a Solar’s innate powers should have one of the following descriptors: holy, sun/light, or mental.
A Solar can gain access to powers with the sorcery and martial arts descriptors as normal, but these are not considered innate powers. A Solar often has enhanced abilities and advantages to represent the perfection of self that comes with the Exaltation. As a Solar’s powers allow him to break boundaries, a Solar could develop innate powers that do not possess their usual descriptors, but this is entirely at the discretion of the GM.
Solars have the following mechanical considerations:
- Anima Environment (bright light) 2, uncontrollable (activates when non-subtle powers are used) [2 points]
- Caste Requirements Each Caste has certain minimum requirements: Dawn (Fighting 2), Eclipse (Presence 2), Night (Agility 2), Twilight (Intellect 2), Zenith (Awareness 2). Solars cannot have an attribute bonus lower than +0 in any attribute.
- Complications All Solars are required to take two particular complications: Reputation (Anathema), representing the fear and hate suffered by Solars in the Age of Sorrows; and a limit break complication, representing some ugly facet of the character’s personality that runs rampant when he feels daunted, thwarted, frustrated, or otherwise stifled (such as Temper, Alcoholism, Pacifism, and so on). These are in addition to any complications the player may select for his character.
- Power Loss: Essence Attrition A Solar’s power comes from his confidence in himself and his own perfection. Having that confidence damaged can seriously impede a Solar’s ability to use his powers. If a Solar rolls a natural 1 on a d20 roll and that roll is also a failure, the Solar must pay a hero point or suffer power loss for the remainder of the current scene. A Solar that spends a hero point to avoid power loss cannot also spend a hero point to mitigate the effects of the failed roll. Power loss does not affect artifacts, except in unusual cases.
- Note: Essence attrition only occurs in situations where power loss matters. Essentially, in any situation where a character could have made a routine check (thus negating the possibility of rolling a 1), then there is not considered to have been enough “effort” attached to the roll to invoke power loss.
- Check Required: The check required flaw always fails on a roll of natural 1. Thus, even if a character could normally choose to make a routine check (such as from being in a non-stressful situation or the Skill Mastery advantage), activating a check-required power always requires a roll, and thus always invokes the possibility of power loss.
A Dawn can invoke his anima to seem enormous and terrifying, sending his enemies fleeing before him on the battlefield and bolstering his allies with confidence. A Dawn Caste can spend 1 hero point to give all allied minions who can see and hear the character a +2 circumstance bonus on all rolls. Alternately, a Dawn Caste can spend 1 hero point to seem powerful and imposing, gaining a +5 circumstance bonus on Intimidate checks for the duration of the scene. The Dawn’s anima must be visible to use either of these powers.
A Zenith can invoke his anima to destroy the corpses of the fallen, sanctifying their bodies and sending their souls to their just reward, or to infuse his weapons with terrible power that burns creatures of death and darkness. A Zenith Caste can spend 1 hero point to reduce all inanimate corpses within his perception to ash and smoke, preventing them from rising again as undead. Alternately, a Zenith Caste may spend 1 hero point to gain a +2 effect bonus against all creatures of darkness for the remainder of the scene, ignoring PL caps. The Zenith’s anima must be visible to use either of these powers.
A Twilight can invoke his anima to make himself able to hone his mind against intrusion or befuddlement, or to understand the essence flows of the world around him. A Twilight Caste can spend 1 hero point to be able to see essence aura for a scene, and to gain a +5 circumstance bonus on any check related to examining or understanding those auras. Alternately, a Twilight Caste can spend 1 hero point to gain a +2 circumstance bonus on Will defense rolls for the duration of the scene, ignoring PL caps. The character’s anima banner must be visible to use either of these effects.
A Night can mute his anima when using other powers, though this becomes increasingly difficult as more powers are invoked; as well, a Night can use his anima to blend with his surroundings when motionless or moving very slowly. A Night Caste can spend 1 hero point to prevent his anima from flaring for the remainder of the scene, even if he uses his powers. Alternately, the Night Caste may spend 1 hero point to gain a +5 circumstance bonus to Stealth checks for the duration of the scene, but this ability ends if the character’s anima flares.
An Eclipse can learn powers forbidden to other Exalted, so long as they have a teacher, and the ancient contracts between mystical creatures and the Exalted allow an Eclipse to invoke diplomatic immunity from harm so long as he offers none. An Eclipse Caste can spend 1 hero point to invoke ancient pacts, preventing any non-mortal, non-Exalt from offering him or his companions harm for the duration of the scene, unless offered harm or insult first. Alternately, an Eclipse Caste may spend 1 hero point to invoke a mystical binding on any agreement freely made in his presence. The Eclipse’s anima must be visible to use this power.
-Note: “Freely made” means that the individuals may not be under mental control of any kind, but they may make such an agreement under non-magical duress.